Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Going Primal (LA's Journal) page

LA
    LA is offline Junior Member

Primal Fuel

Hello All! I hope that this journal will help me stay consistent with my diet and my training goals. Any advice would be great...I am trying to become competitive as a grappler (BJJ and submission wrestling) again.

Stats:

Height - 5'4

Weight - 125

BF% - 17%

Age - 25

Background:

I started on the zone diet two years ago and had great success. I dropped 10lbs and my BF went down 4%. The zone taught me what to eat - protein became essential for every meal and I found myself not missing bread, pasta, potatoes and rice.

About 4 months ago I started training harder...I competed in several sprint triathlons, began boxing again and upped my weightlifting. The zone was simply not allowing me to eat enough calories (between 1000 and 1200 a day). So, after a good bit of research, I decided to try Tom Venuto's BFFM.

The BFFM diet forced me to up my caloric intake by upping my carbs and protein while reducing my fat intake. I dropped another 3lbs and 2%BF...but I was hungry...REALLY HUNGRY!.

And up to last week, that was the story...lots of snacking, several moments of panic from hunger and plenty of calorie counting.

I want to go very primal and have experimented this past week...not to the best results. I find myself still trying to eat every few hours (BFFM) and am still attached to the idea of the ratio (a la the zone diet). Yesterday and today I kept trying to get the ratios correct in fitday (60%F 30%P 10%C) and found myself just adding more and more foods to try to get the ratio perfect.

Goals:

Make gains in the gym (lift more, box faster, roll harder)

Properly fuel my body

Control my hunger

Try IF and/or carnivore days

Challenges:

Breaking the calorie-counting habit

Ending my fear of too many fats/too little carbs

LA

Day 1

B (10:30am - later than usual, but wasn't hungry):

3 eggs

.5 cup sauteed onions and peppers