Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Peleo on a budget page

Ravenscpf is offline Junior Member

Peleo on a budget

I'm rather new to the Paleo scene and I am looking for some advice. I'm sure this question has been posed a few times on this forum already, so I apologize for repeating. I'm curious what some of you are doing to keep the cost down when grocery shopping. My wife and I go to BJ's Wholesale club and get most of our produce and proteins, so beyond buying in bulk do any of you have any other suggestions? I have read a lot online, but thought i might ask the question direct to see what real Paleo people are doing.

Thank you

duckmama is offline Senior Member
    I take advantage of farmer's markets and roadside produce stands whenever possible. In my city, there are several big and popular farmer's markets where prices tend to run higher than normal because it's the "cool" thing to shop at the farmer's market. However, my city is big enough that there are also some small neighborhood farmer's markets where prices are so much better. And I've also identified several nearby produce stands where prices are good too -- of course that's in the spring, summer and fall. Right now, in the winter the fresh, local produce is harder to come by.

I also check the close-out section of the meat case and find mark-downs that are fine as long as I cook them right away or put them in the freezer. I also tend to buy cheaper cuts of meat whenever possible and braise for tenderness or cook in the crock pot. And we eat a fair share of canned salmon & tuna.

I have a family member with a small flock of chickens, and she often gives us eggs when she has too many. These are like gold! And I have another family member who hunts and will sometimes give us some elk after a successful trip.

TriCiCi is offline Senior Member