Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Increasing Stength: How much is related to adding lean muscle mass page

Soil To Sustenance is offline Senior Member

Increasing Stength: How much is related to adding lean muscle mass

Shop Now
    Quick background: I was the painfully skinny kid growing up (weighing 130 lbs at 6'1" when I graduated high school). Over the course of the last 25 years, my weight has increased to as high as 185 lbs (but usually about 175 lbs). After 8 years of a crappy vegetarian diet, I found out about Weston A. Price, and have been eating that way for 4 years. About 3 months ago I made a few modificationd to my diet to eliminate grains and all sugars. I went from 176 down to 162 lbs within a month and have stabalized there. Ideally, I would like to weigh more, but only if I can add back muscle.

As I have started to exercise again, I am discovering how woefully weak I am. My question is how does functional strength relate to % of muscle mass? Said another way, can I reasonably gain a good deal of strength (albeit from a low starting point) without adding very much muscle mass? I will happily add muscle mass if I can (and will modify diet to increase calories as appropriate); however I am hoping that I can make some decent strength gains independent of that.

Thoughts?

Al_Kavadlo is offline Senior Member
    Yes you can gain strength without gaining mass. I've actually gotten smaller in the last few years but have become functionally stronger along the way. You might find this article interesting.
    "In theory, theory and practice are the same. In practice, they couldn't be more different."

"You can have anything you want, but you can't have everything you want."

My blog: http://www.AlKavadlo.com

Pandadude is offline Senior Member