Thread: Colonscopy Prep & Fasting page

ilikesubtitles is offline Senior Member

Colonscopy Prep & Fasting

Shop Now
    Hey everyone,

I have a colonoscopy scheduled for a week from tomorrow. I am only 21, but am having it done because my bloodwork came back with an elevated risk for colitis, something that runs in the family.

Anywho, as anyone that's had it done knows, you must fast for the entire day beforehand, plus sleeping hours on either end of that day. So I'm looking at a 36-40 hour fast here.

I am new to IF and did it once last week, so I wouldn't say I'm used to it. I am going to IF twice before my fast day, eating only between 1 and 4 pm to start prepping myself for this kind of hunger. But a 40 hour fast is way beyond IF parameters. Any recommendations for prepping for this? Any ideas for what to eat the day before? Anyone want to share their experience?

geekgrrl is offline Senior Member
    Don't worry too much about 'practicing' fasting, just deal with it. Have plenty of good light reading material, a movie to watch or something to keep your mind off it. If you're already PBing you shouldn't find it as bad as if you were still on the blood sugar rollercoaster.

I ate quite lightly the day before, can't recall exactly what - chicken I think. The worst thing I found was getting down that disgusting drink, and such a huge volume of it. There's different ones, the one I had was many liters and the effects took a while, while there's another one which isn't such a large volume and tends to do the job in a shorter time.

Really what you eat probably doesn't make a great deal of difference within reason. So long as you carefully follow the timings and instructions you are given.