Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Primal for Pets? page

Buttercup is offline Senior Member

Question Primal for Pets?

Primal Fuel
    Hi all,

I'm a newbie, so please forgive me if this topic has been covered before.

I've been PB for almost 3 weeks and loving it. With the increase in meat around here, I've noticed our 2 cats becoming quite the beggars and lingering around my daughter's high chair in the hopes of some fallen morsels. They've never done this before!

It's made me think I need to give them a primal diet too. They run through their dry food quickly and seem to be starving by the time dinnertime rolls around. Of course, I assume this is due to the carbs in it!

I've been browsing the pet food section and have looked at several more natural-based versions, but all seem to have some sort of grain in them (barley, corn, wheat, etc.).

Does anyone have any recommendations for primal pet food for cats? I found Primal Pet Foods online, but they don't have an online store and there are no vendors around these parts. There is also some frozen stuff at my co-op, but it's expensive! Is there anything else out there?

Dragonfly is offline Senior Member
    Orijen. By far the most Primal I have found. My dog thrives on it!

jqbancroft is offline Senior Member
    Orijen is great, so is evo, and taste of the wild. All grain free

Adrianag is offline Senior Member
    I do Orijen one meal and raw the other. You can buy frozen raw at some pet stores.

I cube and freeze these in a single layer, then bag:
    Beef heart
    Pork shoulder
    Beef liver
    Chicken livers
    Chicken hearts
    Chicken wings no need to ct

In the morning out pull out a mix of frozen cubes. By dinner time it is thawed and ready. Miss K munches through the wings bones and all with no problem. Her coat has never looked better.

Namasteak is offline Senior Member