Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: I am sorry page

Griff is offline Senior Member

I am sorry

I want to apologize to everyone that I've ranted at in the last few days about religion. I offer this not as an excuse but as an explanation for my bad behavior.

I have had a lot of really, really bad experiences with religious people. I've had a lot of people push me, accuse me, and guilt-trip me about my nonbelief. I've fought back, because that's who I am. One of the worst times, for me, was two years ago when my Dad died and I had to attend his religious funeral (after having been guilt-tripped about my nonbelief by his priest at his deathbed, no less). Having to deal with all the well-intentioned religious platitudes that everyone was throwing at me just made me more and more angry, both about his having died and about the message I was receiving, which was: you are not part of this event because you do not believe in a god. (My mother-in-law (a devout Mormon) told me that I was a bad son for not believing that my father is in heaven. I'm sure you can see why the mention of Mormonism, especially, just set me off.)

This past Wednesday was the second anniversary of his death from gangrene, brought on by complications of diabetes and cancer. For the last week or so, I've been really raw and on edge. And to add insult to injury, I've also had immense work and school stress and no way to fix any of it.

None of that excuses the fact that I took it out on all of you. I'm truly sorry I did that. I value this community and the people here. I just... lost it. I'd just had it. I was angry and grieving and missing my Dad like crazy, and the last thing I wanted to hear was people praising something that has hurt me very, very deeply.