Thread: cholesterol insight page

ibtbone is offline Junior Member

cholesterol insight

Hi, I am pretty new to the program, began Jan 4th. I am motivated by a 212 cholesterol test (LDL 143) done in December and refuse to take statins which made my doctor pretty mad. I amazed at the results initially. I've gone cold turkey on grains, breads, pasta etc as well as sugar. I haven't missed it much amazingly as I have really cranked up the fruit intake, I eat 5-7 servings of fresh fruit a day so maybe that is curbing the intense sugar cravings I used to suffer from daily. I have went from 212lbs to 196-198 in just 2 weeks and am walking 5-6 day's 30-45 mins hard and 2 day's of pushup's, ab wheel, and body weight squats and physically I feel like I am eighteen years old instead of 48. The am trying to get some factual exp around this program as it relates to lowering the LDL count and also how long that took. I am going to commit to the PB program completely for 6 months and get retested. Any feedback here?

kandc88 is offline Member
    Your one numberr doesn't tell us much of anything. From Griffs Primer, it's all about the ratios...

The ideal ratio of Total/HDL is 4.4 for women and 5 for men. Also, according to http://www.yourmedicaldetective.com/public/523.cfm and several other sites, the ratio of your trigs to your HDL will indicate whether your LDL is small and dense (bad - Pattern B) or large and fluffy (neutral - Pattern A). A larger number indicates smaller LDL particles and a smaller number indicates larger LDL particles. It's an inverse relationship.

The ideal ratio of Trig/HDL is 2 or below. 4 is high. 6 is "danger!!" This ratio indicates the level of risk for heart disease. Additionally, a low ratio of Trig/HDL is great because it's a semi-reliable indicator of lower free insulin levels. Lower free insulin is good. (However, this doesn't appear to work for those of African descent, so take that with a grain of salt.)