Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Convince me that I should buy grass fed rather than conventional page

who
    who is offline Member

Convince me that I should buy grass fed rather than conventional

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    I basically only spend money on food, but I'd like to minimize it as much as possible.
    I'm a college student. I'm cheap.

Please reson me into forking it over for good quality meat and eggs.

Dragonfly is offline Senior Member
    Think of it as health insurance. You are reducing inflammation by eating foods higher in Omega 3s, as well as eliminating hormones or antibiotics that can mess up your system. Kinder to the animals, too.

spughy is offline Senior Member
    It's worth it just for the flavour. There's a huuuuuge difference between a nice, orange-yolked, satisfying pastured egg and a tasteless pale-yellow blob of a store egg. And there's no point in eating steak that doesn't taste like steak. I ate grain-fed prime rib roast a few days ago (at a friend's) and it tasted like... nothing. Grass-fed beef tastes like beef.

Buy some of both - whatever it is - and do a side-by-side comparison. If you can afford to buy the calories you need and do it pastured, you'll find a way.

zoebird is offline Senior Member
    do your own research and figure it out for yourself.

tarek is offline Senior Member
    This:

versus this:

TigerLily is offline Senior Member
    ^Jesus Christ....

It's highly worth it. Once you go grass-fed, you'll never go back. I gag at the thought of CAFO beef now. It doesn't even taste like the same animal.

You should see "King Corn." One part of the documentary is about what happens to cows who are forced to eat corn. If they weren't slaughtered at their certain age, they would die pretty soon thereafter anyway ... from what the corn does to them.

As my ex-BF used to say: "Pay the farmer or pay the doctor. It's your choice."
    "Let food be thy medicine and medicine be thy food." -- Hippocrates