Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Getting enough protein during IF? page

lexsi340 is offline Senior Member

Getting enough protein during IF?

Shop Now
    Hey all!

I have recently started IF, easy because I am rarely hungry.. but I am realizing that if I only eat two meals (sometimes one meal and snacks here and there - I am a nanny so I cook 3-4 hours a day!) my protein intake is very low. This morning, for instance, I tried to kick it up with a burger and two eggs and kale.. but the rest of the day I ate veggies and fat (straight coconut butter!), and was completely stuffed by the time I got home.

Is it better to eat anyway to get the protein up? Or just listen to my bodies signals?

Try cutting down on some of the very fibrous carbs and adding some protein in. Or, get some fat source other than coconut butter that includes protein. (i.e., pork, beef, etc.)

Also, I know it's not technically "primal" but having some protein powder if you absolutely can't fit in your protein is not going to kill you. It's a godsend for me, especially when I'm very busy and don't have time to cook some meat up.

Daemonized is offline Senior Member
    I'm a daily leangains style IFer and getting enough protein is the main focus of meals for me. I eat meat, eggs or cottage cheese with almost any meal and bump up my protein with whey sometimes if I think I'm not getting enough. It's usually recommended that you get at least one gram of protein for every pound of lean body mass that you have.

primalrob is offline Senior Member
    i IF every day, and have two meals during my eating window, just so i can get the protein (and other nutrients) that i need. i make sure that protein is the basis of my meal...a big 5-6 egg omelet, sometimes filled with meat, or what i like to call extra-meat chili.
    plus, i try to keep protein type snacks around just in case i need to grab something quick if i know i won't be able to do the full meal thing...jerkey, cans of tuna, nuts, etc.