Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Best Schedule for IF???

Best Schedule for IF???

Shop Now
    Hi--I'm trying to lose weight on PB (lost a little so far, but not much). All the posts on IF have convinced me that might be the next technique I add to the repertoire...but I'm a bit confused as to when/how often would have the most beneficial effects on fat loss?

I could fast 16 hours each day (essentially just skip breakfast), and then eat from noon to 8 PM, or I could mix things up and fast randomly...16 hours here, a few days later, 24 hours, or something? Is there any benefit to making the fast length/timing random, or would a 16-hr fast every day make for the best fat loss?

Looking forward to responses. I'm new to IF, too, and just did my first 16 hr fast today.

Really its what suits your lifestyle.
    I believe you don't get any more benefit from longer than 16hrs fasting.

Just let it fit into your lifestyle as best possible.
    I pretty much only eat dinner on my fast days. Sometimes they go for 16hours other times 24hours just let it work with your life as best as possible.

I just eat a very late afternoon snack (after 4:30 or so) or munch a bit while I'm prepping dinner on my fast days. It works for me - I can get a lot more done during the day if I don't have to stop and eat, and I never get any more hungry than I am at about 11 am. I think if I started eating earlier I'd just eat too much - but just one meal it's hard to overdo it.

Also, I NEVER eat after I finish dinner, until breakfast the next morning, so I get a 12-14 hour fast every single day. Mostly, that's because I sleep much better if I go to bed with an empty stomach. Every third to fifth day, I do a 22-ish hour fast. Since I started doing that more consistently, I've lost weight a lot faster - but that may be more because I dropped dairy from my diet, too. Still, it's a lifestyle modification that I like. It makes me more productive and saves some money on groceries.