Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: P90X Primal?? page

MikeGP Guest

Hey guys, like many of you i do P90x...ive been doing it for 4 months with very good results. But since reading MDA, Fitnessspotlight and other Primal lifestyle blogs, they all recommend to keep your intense, strenght workouts short, 20-30 minutes. As you know, P90X is about 75 minutes when doing weight training, and 60 minutes when doing Plyo etc...

IS this too much for the primal lifestyle? have any of you made modifications to P90x? i want to keep doing it...but maybe less is more??? Any suggestions?

thebkon Guest

The average workout video is under 60 minutes (with the 90 minute yoga routine being the exception). This total takes into account the 5+ minute warm up and the 5-10 minute cool down.

If you want to cut the time down do half of what is recommended but with a more intense effort. In each video, Tony normally repeats sets of 3-4 exercises twice. i.e. "Chest and Back": all 12 moves (including the 3 bonus moves) are repeated once. Just do the 15 moves once but push yourself and fast forward through the water breaks if you think you can. This will give you the same workout but not put your body out of the Primal zone.

Just my two cents, if some one can back me up or correct me, I would appreciate it

MikeGP Guest

Well i meant 75 minutes including the 15 minutes of Ab Ripper X....I mean, i dont mind doing the whole workout....i actually enjoy it...I just dont want to be putting extra stress hence slowing my progress.....

tman Guest