Thread: New to Primal and Type 1 Diabetic page

SK1
    SK1 is offline Member

Hi! I am just getting started on the primal blueprint and I'm really excited to see how it goes! I have some things I'd love to throw out to the boards:

I have type 1 diabetes and have had it for 15 years so I would love to hear from anyone else who has it (specifically type 1) and how it's going for them. The insulin stuff in the book makes sense to me, but obviously as my body does not naturally produce insulin in the same way a normal person's does I will have to monitor it more closely. I am currently taking Lantus (base) and Novolog (bolus).

One thing I'm having trouble with is buying things with fat in them! I know it's good fat, but almost three decades of hearing the mantra "fat is bad" are tripping me up - I wanted to reach for the lowfat organic greek yogurt instead of the full fat, etc. I am going to be strict with myself for one week about eating the fats I have and trying not to worry - has anyone experienced weight gain in the transition to going primal? I hope not, just checking!

Also I am curious about going primal on a budget. I went to the store yesterday to get started on my primal shopping list (bought organic chicken breast and wild salmon for my meats, almonds, walnuts, fruit/veggies) and I must admit I spent more than I am used to. I figure in the end it all balances out because maybe I'll be spending less on prescriptions and doctor visits but would love to hear stories of how everyone deals with this.

Also, would love to hear good bread/grain alternatives that are healthy and fit in the primal lifestyle.

Thanks everyone! Looking forward to getting in on this!

chocolatechip69 is offline Junior Member

I'll chime in. First of all, I'd like to congratulate you on taking this important step. I don't have diabetes, but I have a feeling after you're in the full swing of this lifestyle, you're going to be dropping both of those meds.