Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Eating with non-primals page

newlyprimal is offline Junior Member

Eating with non-primals

Primal Fuel
    Hi there. I'm a newbie to the primal way. Have done Atkins in the past and lost a good amount of weight -26 pounds in 12 weeks so I know that low carb and high fat works best for me. Sadly I fell off the wagon and regained weight because I find it very hard to live without bread, fruit and pasta. Here's giving it another go.

My question for you guys is how do you behave when around people who don't eat primal? I'm sometimes(1 or twice a week) at someone's house, or in a cafe with someone, or at a party or at a fundraising event organised by some club my young son is part of, like the scouts. Problem is, food offered is mostly pizza and pasta as it's cheap, or something carby. I would hate to not go to events and look unfriendly and unsupportive. It would also be stupid to pay 10 dollars for a pasta buffet and then take my own dinner with me.

At a party, it would look strange to refuse to eat and drink anything, wouldn't it? Parties where I'm from are based on pastries, bread, crisps, cakes and sugary/alcoholic drinks.

I'd like to hear how you get around social occasions...

Dave_o is offline Senior Member
    Simple.
    Tell everyone your allergic to anything you don't the look of. If they press the issue, tell them it gives you explosive didiarrhea or makes you spontainiously vomit.
    Either that, or stop caring what people think.

TornadoGirl is offline Senior Member