Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Going half-paleo still useful? What if I'm already fit on a sugary diet? page

Mqrius is offline Junior Member

Going half-paleo still useful? What if I'm already fit on a sugary diet?

Shop Now
    Hi there

I've recently stumbled across the whole paleo thing, and I've been considering giving it a go, but I have some questions. Look at the bottom if you don't want to read a lot of text.

My 'backstory':
    I'm a university student, 23 years old, 178 cm (5'10"), ~60 kg (132 lbs), and rather fit (can do pull-ups fine). I'm definitely not obese, more like skinny rather. Nevertheless, I feel pretty fit, and don't really pay too much attention to what I eat. I'm one of those people who can eat loads of stuff without gaining weight.

I've my blood pressure checked a while ago, and it was a bit low, but I don't notice any ill effects really. The doctor also told me "Usually I tell people to be careful with their fat intake, but you can eat a little extra now and then". It's a bit strange, because I don't really skimp on fat or anything. I like meat, I like butter, and I like sweet stuff (actually, I even like eating sugarcubes. Burn me at the stake :P)

Considering this, I was wondering what use paleo might be for me. Various posts seem to have paleo as a fix for nigh everything, so I guess I might expect a bit more muscle, and no acne, and perhaps higher blood pressure, although that's kind of a fix for problems I don't have yet.

Next, I've thought about what paleo would entail for me. I live in a dorm with ample cooking facilities, and usually one guy cooks for 5 to 10 people. Getting everyone to cook paleo for me is a no-go, but I guess I could try cooking on my own for a month or so, and if I like it, keep doing it.