Thread: Sprinting & nutrition page

tarek is offline Senior Member

Sprinting & nutrition

Shop Now
    I've been sprinting once every two weeks or so for the past two or three months, and I'm a little unsure about the nutritional aspect of it. I usually sprint for 30 to 40 seconds and walk briskly for about a minute. I do this about six times. I'll wait an hour or so before eating, and when I do, I'll usually have a smoothie or a tuna/egg salad. I'm a very thin and active male, and I'm currently looking to build some mass.

Any advice?

Thanks! :]

Grumpycakes is offline Senior Member
    If you want to build mass, you will probably have to do so by lifting heavy things more than sprinting. Do you at least put protein powder in your smoothie?
    You lousy kids! Get off my savannah!

tarek is offline Senior Member
    I put protein powders in my smoothies when I do lifting, which I do three times a week for fifteen to twenty minutes. I'm happy with my results so far. After sprinting, however, I wasn't sure if it would be better to increase carbohydrate intake or protein intake. My thinking was that an occasional sprint will encourage HGH production and thus help to build muscle -- is this wrong?

Hedonist is offline Senior Member
    Per Phil Campbell's Sprint 8 program, sprints will give you a muscular sprinter body. See Mercola's video. (Yes, I know Mercola is sort of a nut but this makes sense.) But you have to do it two or three times per week. Eight sets of 30 second balls to the wall sprinting and 90 seconds of recovery. if you can do it more than two or three times a week, you are not doing it hard enough.
    Ancestral Health Info

I design websites and blogs for a living. If you would like a blog or website designed by someone who understands Primal, see my web page.