Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Kashi & Not Eating Enough page

Dr. Bork Bork is offline Senior Member

Kashi & Not Eating Enough

Primal Fuel
    So I've been a Kashi GoLean lover for a while now. It seems like such a wholesome cereal (low sugar, low cal, high fiber, high protein). I'm also new to the Primal lifestyle.

DO I HAVE TO GIVE UP MY BELOVED KASHI?

I will be so very sad if I do, but will bow to Grok if that is what He wishes.

Also, in the last few days since I've started cutting carbs back, I've found that I've had a really hard time eating enough calories in a day. I've been on a weight loss journey for over a year now, so I'm used to eating 1200-1500 cals a day, but since I've started trying to go Primal, I'm having a hard time meeting the base 1200. Help?

lil_earthmomma is offline Senior Member
    Here's a kick ass recipe that will make you gladly give up your kashi:

http://girlgoneprimal.blogspot.com/2...ola-final.html
    The more I see the less I know for sure.
    -John Lennon

jqbancroft is offline Senior Member
    Kashi can remain...in your 20% Some people here spend their 20% routinely (i.e pizza every Friday, etc.) so maybe you'll want a bowl of Kashi every now and again as yours. However, it shouldn't be a part of your regular diet as it's so heavy in grains! I'll tell you, though, that roasted chopped nuts in milk is amazing, and might have the similar Kashi crunch.

For not getting enough calories, I'm betting you're not eating enough fat. That's a common problem for newcomers. However, to truly understand why you're going so low calorie, it would be best for you to share what you've been eating.

If fat is the problem, eat eggs with the yolks, bacon, butter, coconut oil, ground beef, chicken thighs, avocado, etc. and I'm sure your calories will be where you want them!

Edit: The nut cereal I was talking about is the exact one lil_earthmomma posted! Great minds

Dragonfly is offline Senior Member

Wink