Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How much fruit is too much? page

canes84 is offline Member

How much fruit is too much?

Hi all,

I'm new to the primal/paleo lifestyle and I'm wondering how much fruit I should be eating? My current goal is weight loss so I don't want to slow the process down by eating too much fruit. Thoughts?

Pandadude is offline Senior Member
    Optimal fruit intake for weight loss is probably 0. My random out of the blue assumption is that 1-2 small pieces of fruit won't stall your weightloss. A small melon, half a pineapple, that kind of thing is probably what I would call excessive for weightloss purposes. I personally ate one piece of fruit to break my fast when I was dieting, and that worked well for me. For some more scientific numbers, I believe the fructose limit is somewhere around 20-30g for how much it takes to replete liver glycogen, and where further consumption will become adipose tissue.

Dragonfly is offline Senior Member
    Zero, unless it is a few berries with cream. Too much sugar in most other fruit--we've bred modern fruit for high sugar content.

Griff is offline Senior Member
    If you're trying to lose weight, don't eat fruit at all.
    Primal eating in a nutshell: If you are hungry, eat Primal food until you are satisfied (not stuffed). Then stop. Wait until you're hungry again. Repeat.

Looking for my Cholesterol Primer? Here it is: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/forum...mer-(Attempt-2)

Ditch the scale!: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/forum/thread33283.html

My Success Story: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/forum/thread30615.html

kimdowse is offline Member
    Quote Originally Posted by Griff View Post
    If you're trying to lose weight, don't eat fruit at all.
    +1

Beefsister is offline Senior Member
    The only fruit I would eat would be berries, to be honest. Really, there's nothing in a fruit you couldn't get from a veggie, and vegetables don't have all that nasty fructose in them.