Thread: OT - Need tips on picking gas stove page

Meadow is offline Senior Member

Question OT - Need tips on picking gas stove

Since the primal crew contains a lot of good cooks, thought I would poll the masses here.

We are going to install a gas line and convert our electric stove to gas...WOOHOO. Now I am doing research on new stoves and I am totally at a loss.

Any suggestions or considerations from those that use gas ranges?

Couple notes:
    -Budget is around $1000-1500, max width is 30" so just going with 4 burner
    -Probably going to do gas oven (still unsure, pros/cons?)
    -Probably going to keep the bottom as storage drawer due to budget and logistics
    -I am a MESSY cook, I am used to cooking on an easy to clean flattop, what should I look for in a gas stove to make it easier to clean??

slacker is offline Senior Member
    This is where a subscription to Consumer Reports pays for itself really fast. They rate them all out for you, and tell you which ones give you the best features for your dollar.

Having been around this block a few times myself, what I'll say is, think hard about how you like to cook when you pick. I like to do most things low and slow. Once upon a time, I saw an amazing buy on a used commercial style range, and fell for it. Big mistake. Everything was burned as soon as I let my guard down a hair. That stove would have been great for someone who liked to cook fast and hot, like stir fries at high heat, most of the time, or cinderize steaks in the oven. The other thing you want to watch out for is design for their hypothetical average customer. The average range buyer hardly ever uses the dang thing, because they eat out or get things that they can reheat in the microwave. The most common thing a range is used for is reheating pizza baked somewhere else. Be sure you are getting one that was designed to be used.

naiadknight is online now Senior Member