Thread: not sure where to put this page

lrpurro is offline Junior Member

not sure where to put this

Primal Fuel
    but npr put PB on a "blacklist" of worst/most unhealthy cookbooks!

well, actually, the article is written by Physicians For Responsible Medicine and appeared to be wholeheartedly endorsed by npr.

http://www.pcrm.org/health/reports/f...ooks_2010.html

I think they need to be bombarded with primal success stories!

Lisa
    Last edited by lrpurro; 12-23-2010 at 03:55 PM. Reason: clarification

Buttercup is offline Senior Member
    lrpurro,

Maybe it's because I'm a newbie, but this riled me up! Below is the email I sent to the PCRM:

Hello,

I'm sure you've heard from a few unhappy Primal Blueprint folks about listing Mark Sisson's cookbook on your 5 worst list, but I'd like to respond.

The review strikes me as one written by someone who hasn't even cracked open the book. Have you looked inside? I have been making recipes from it for a few weeks now and in many ways it is just like what I ate before, but without the carbs: Coconut Chicken Curry (no rice, or you can make Cauliflower "Rice"), Slow-Cooked Chicken with veggies in a crockpot, Pumpkin Nut Muffins (made with coconut flour, and super tasty!). I'd like to know what is so unhealthy about that? No sugar, more veggies, fruit, nuts, no processed foods. Isn't that how you guys are trying to get us to eat anyway?

In three weeks of this new lifestyle, I have lost 4 pounds that years of exercise 5 times a week and a "healthy" standard American diet couldn't budge. In fact, even though I am more active and eat better than ever before in my life, I was adding a pound a year. I decided that was no longer acceptable.

The thing is, my husband is a physician. I worried that he would think I was crazy. But he happily read Gary Taubes's book Why We Get Fat and told me that it was all medically and scientifically sound. We have been thrilled with the Primal/Paleo lifestyle ever since.