Thread: Hypothyroidism, HGBA1C, and Cholesterol Results page

JeffC is offline Senior Member

Hypothyroidism, HGBA1C, and Cholesterol Results

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    A few weeks ago I had my annual physical exam. I'm a 41 year old male and I've been eating primally for about 6 months and trying to lose some weight. Since my last physical I lost about 15 lbs and am probably in the low 20% of body fat, about 175 in weight. I also get a ton of exercise, including things like biking for an hour in 20F weather and getting some great results with kettlebells. So generally I am very fit and feel good.

My cholesterol mostly improved from last year. This year my LDL was at 101 which was an increase from the mid 70s but I don't know about the particle size. My HDL increased from the mid 70s to mid 90s. My Tris decreased from 86 to 50. My blood pressure was the same at 120/70 and my resulting pulse is frequently in the low 50s bpm. So all in all pretty good.

However, the bad part was that my HGBA1C count was at 6.0 which is pre diabetes stage. Also my Doctor said that over the past three years my thyroid results have progressed from borderline low to worse although he was not specific about it.

Now he wants me to come back in for another round of blood tests. Although we only talked briefly, he thinks there may be some connection between the thyroid results and the HGBA1C results and cautioned against being diabetic and how it is so bad blah, blah, blah.

I would not be surprised if hypothyroidism runs in my family and the changes could be so gradual and slow that you don't realize you could feel much better if you took certain medications. Still I feel frustrated because I know so little about this and hate the thought of being dependent on medication.

Anybody else have a similar situation?