Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Energy Level . . . page

Bill_89 is offline Member

Energy Level . . .

Primal Fuel
    One of the reasons I was looking to try the primal blueprint in the first place was because I often feel that I lack energy. It doesn't occur while I'm exercising, and in fact, I do usually get out to exercise every day. But for the rest of my day, I often feel very groggy.

I have been eating primal to the best of my ability for about a week now, keeping in mind that I am a college student with limited funds. So what have I been eating?

-Eggs (hard boiled and scrambled), chicken breast, spinach salads (w/ mushrooms, tomatoes, green pepper, broccoli, ranch dressing), burger (obviously without a bun), almonds (a daily snack), grapefruit, bananas, apples, green and white tea (decaf), bacon, sausage. Frankly, it has been delicious and I wouldn't mind continuing to eat this way at all. My one cheat (which I plan to remove eventually) is oatmeal--it's cheap and 100% whole grain. I'm certainly well under 100 g of carbohydrate per day.

I like this diet and think it has a strong theoretical foundation. But I was a little concerned with my energy level today, which seemed even lower than normal. I guess what was even more bothersome was the fact that the fatigue seemed subjectively more "physical." In the past, I would characterize my fatigue as primarily "mental" and due to the stresses of life (social and academic). The fatigue I experienced today just felt different and I can't rule out the possibility it was a consequence of the way I'm eating.

I am at a healthy body weight and am not trying to lose weight. Basically, my goal is to set a sustainable foundation for preventing disease when I'm older. I would also love to have more energy.

I guess my questions are . . .

-Is it normal to experience this when first going on a primal diet?