Thread: Just what is the deal with nutritionists/dieticians and their industry? page

judoka is offline Member

Just what is the deal with nutritionists/dieticians and their industry?

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    Hi all, new member, great to be here . Something has really been irking me since I started taking responsibility for my own nutritional/exercise knowledge over 2 years ago and I figured here might be a good place to ask. You see, I'm not the sort to say off handedly "nutritionists/dieticians/doctors/etc don't know what they are talking about. I'm currently doing a masters degree in counter terrorism, hopefully a doctorate eventually. I respect the concept of academic rank and the quest for knowledge and what it has brought us.

So why do I get the feeling that the "conventional" nutrition world is full of idiots? It all seems so obvious when you put all the pieces together of what is good for us and what isn't. I know industry, government and of course money has a big hand in this, but academics are supposed to be relatively free of such influences. Why are we being pushed the crap that we are being pushed by nutritionists/dieticians? These people are tertiary educated for god's sake, but everything I hear them say on tv just makes me shake my head and wonder what the hell they are being taught.

Here is a perfect example:
    http://www.smh.com.au/news/national/...497337102.html

Contained within:
    "She's basing her ideas on observations of primitive populations in isolated areas who eat traditional diets, and it's so far removed from Western civilisation," Dr Watson said. "In a population that is sedentary, there is no need to consume saturated fats."

Now, call me crazy, but wtf does that even mean? That is such a piss poor counter argument, it doesn't even mean anything! And it comes from someone with the highest academic qualification!
    As Mugatu says in Zoolander "I feel like I'm taking crazy pills here!"