Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Fats / Oils for someone with high food sensitivies page

gfcfmom is offline Junior Member

Fats / Oils for someone with high food sensitivies

Hi all ... I am new to this but loving all that I am reading. My 5 year old son has tremendous food allergies and sensitivities. His diet has slowly morphed into a paleo style diet and my brother turned me onto the PB. Now my question is, my son is allergic to all nuts and seeds, he seems okay with olive oil which is what I have been cooking with for him but an MRT test shows a hidden food allergy to olive oil too. Can anyone suggest another "safe for high cooking oil" as well as any other sources of fat for him?

Here is what he CAN NOT have when it comes to fats:
    Seeds - anaphylactic to sunflower especially
    Nuts - anaphylactic to cashew especially
    Dairy/Soy -

His doctor would like him to have a high protein, calorie dense breakfast. I am doing GFCF Nitrate free organic hot dogs, organic nitrate free ham, organic chicken breast, organic nitrate free turkey bacon, kind of just rotating through these cooked in olive oil ... is this enough fat though? Rest of the day he would only get a little more olive oil depending on what I've cooked.

Thanks for any input you can give!

Michele

jammies is offline Senior Member
    Do you have access to grass fed beef tallow, lard, or coconut oil? You could cook his food in these fats. You could also add coconut oil, or cocobutter to smoothies.

Jenny is offline Senior Member
    Hmm, does coconut qualify as an allergen for him? Google tells me it isn't the same as a tree nut allergy, although people can have a separate allergy to it.
    "Trust me, you will soon enter a magical land full of delicious steakflowers, with butterbacons fluttering around over the extremely rompable grass and hillsides."

Griff is offline Senior Member