Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Portion Size page

jvaldezjr is offline Junior Member

Portion Size

Shop Now
    I'm still learning about what primal foods I should eat, and the biggest problems I have are with eating eggs all the time (3 a day, scrambled or fried, etc) and how much fat I should eat (tons of walnuts, pistachios, sunflower seeds, and almonds). I cook with coconut oil and butter. What should my portion sizes be or how should I measure it? Mark's book mentions that when starting out, not to worry about it, but now I think I'm not creating a calorie deficit, and I'm just eating more than I should. How do I determine what my portion sizes should be?

RSL
    RSL is offline Senior Member
    Are you losing fat? Inches? Do you have any idea how many calories you are actually eating? www.fitday.com
    Rebecca

Right click here to watch me lose 22.5 pounds of body fat and gain 5.5 pounds of muscle in only 5 months right before your eyes in this cool morphing video!

Click the banner below to visit my blog:

Feb 2009 - 158 pounds - 43.6% body fat
    Aug 2013 - 138 pounds - 34.3% body fat
    So far, lost 19.8 pounds of body fat and gained 1.8 pounds of lean mass
    Goal - 136 pounds - 30% body fat
    Still need to lose 6.4 more pounds of body fat and gain 4.2 more pounds of lean mass

BarbeyGirl is offline Senior Member
    Nuts are one food that that most of us (including those who don't count calories, which is the majority), either limit or avoid. I limit them to about 2-3 servings a week.

For one thing, they aren't pure fat, but also contain protein and carbs -- so if you're trying to stay very low carb (I'm not), they can boost you over the line.

Also, the O-3/O-6 ratio in nuts isn't the greatest. Too much O-6.