Thread: Confused? How much Protien do I need? page

brianne is offline Junior Member

Confused? How much Protien do I need?

Primal Fuel
    I am a 30 year old female weighing approximately 138 lbs. I workout 4-5 days a week, crossfitting 3 days a week, running 1-2 days a week and sometimes yoga. I am just getting into paleo/primal eating. But I am still confused by how much protien/carbs/fat I need. I've kept track of my food intake on Fitday.com for 5 years, so I don't mind the number crunching. Just trying to figure out what I should be eating in either grams or percentages. Any help? I feel like I am reading conflicting information. I should note that my goal is to lean out. Don't care about my weight so much, would just love to be a bit leaner.

batty is offline Senior Member
    1. protein: if you are athletic and know your BF%, i suggest getting in 1g per lb of lean body mass.
    2. pick the amount of carbohydrate per mark's carbohydrate curve. you might benefit more from staying closer to 100 rather than 50 since you are so active.
    3. the rest of your daily calories will come from fat.
    4. ??
    5. profit!

HANDS OFF MY BACON :: my primal journal

Thanks, Batty! So the last time I got my body fat checked it was 18-19%. So below are my calculations.

138-26.22=111.78. So I will aim for about 112 grams of protein and about 100 grams of carbs. So the difference should be made up by fat - got it. But how do I figure out that difference?

Sorry - I am still new to all of this and despite reading The Paleo Diet, I am still a bit confused...

not a problem, ultimately you should not have to count calories, but sometimes it is helpful just to get a handle on how you are supposed to be eating.

total all depends on how much total calories you are shooting for daily. say, for instance, you're doing 1800 calories.

protein and carbs = 4 cals/g

protein: 112 * 4 = 448 cals
    carbs: 100 * 4 = 400 cals