Vitamin D article---check the RDA

Shop Now
    Just read this and thought it might be worth passing on

http://www.lewrockwell.com/miller/miller25.html
    Tayatha om bekandze

Bekandze maha bekandze

Randza samu gate soha

aktres is offline Senior Member
    For a person who already has MS, would D3 supplementation help?

Dragonfly is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by aktres View Post
    I imagine it would. I've read anecdotal stories of MS summer seasonal "remission", which leads me to believe that D3 may be what is causing the improvement. Higher blood levels may be necessary to get benefits when you already have MS--read more on the Vitamin D council website.

Here's a letter I found in a 2009 newsletter (with a search for "Muliple Sclerosis" on the site:

Vitamin D and Multiple Sclerosis

Dr. Cannell: I have been a subscriber since the early days, six years ago, and have been following your work with great admiration. I am a medical malpractice attorney in Seattle, Washington diagnosed with multiple sclerosis three years ago. I was told there was no effective treatment. I read hundreds of articles and studies. I read last week where an MS gene has been isolated that is regulated by vitamin D.

I have stopped the progression of my MS by getting my 25(OH)D level to approximately 80 ng/mL (200 nmol/L) and keeping it there for a little over 2 years now. I just had another gadolinium MRI (18 months after the fist "clean" MRI) and I still have no active MS lesions. I have maintained my 25(OH)D level >80 ng/mL throughout, and have obtained serial 25(OH)D levels and blood calcium testing, and have had no increase in blood calcium or other side effects.