Thread: Am I doomed to be skinny fat? page

Nixondodo Guest

Primal Fuel

Why doesn’t eating and exercising Primal seem to work for me? Am I doomed to be skinny fat?

Here’s my background: I’ve been eating primal for over eight years. Seriously. During these eight years I was moderately active (walks, some sprints that practically killed me, some weights), ate low carb everyday with very little cheating (only occasional splurges – under 1x per month, if that, and hardly ever in the 200+ carb range for more than a day), and even mixed in some intermittent fasting. I was lucky enough to marry a caveman – he’s the one who has taught me the beauty of eating and living Primal.

I eat Primal 1) because it keeps me skinny, 2) it totally makes sense to do so, and 2) I feel awesome when I’m “in the cave.”

Last year I was lucky enough to be involved in a medical research program for a condition I have called POTS, which pretty much has made me exercise intolerant all my life. Until recently, I had never run 100ft in my life. During testing it was determined that my heart is 1/3rd smaller than other women my stature. My cardiac output and lung capacity were woefully low. As you can imagine, this contributed significantly to my past exercise intolerance!

Here’s the deal, though, and how it relates to eating Primal – which, according to Mark’s book, contributes about 80% to body composition. I was underwater-weighed as part of the study to determine my body fat percentage. I was a whopping 30%+. I’m 5’ 7” and, at the time, weighed around 135lbs. After going through a four-month exercise program to increase my cardiac output and stamina as part of the medical study, I weighed around 132lbs and was still a whopping 30%+. Granted, the exercise program was not Primal, but it jump started my whole exercise life and helped build an aerobic base. I can now do things I’ve only dreamed of before.