Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Running Barefoot- Technique and Advice page

moderngrokker is offline Junior Member

Running Barefoot- Technique and Advice

Primal Fuel
    Hi everybody! I'm a couple months into living PB, and I'm doing well. PB only slightly conflicts with my goal of running a marathon by the time I'm 30 (April of '12) and so I've begun training with the intention of running a marathon in fall of '11.

I've had limited running experience before, so in some ways it's good because I don't have bad technique or form to correct. But I need to CREATE technique.

I bought a pair of VFF's (LOVE THEM!) and I've been reading online for advice, but although I've found videos I haven't found a lot of specific advice. I went for a short run yesterday, focuses on staying on the balls of my feet, in order to not heel strike, and lifting my feet. During the run I was worried about my Achilles heel's, and today my calves are quite sore.

So I look to the experts here, help? advice? resources?
    Life is not about waiting for the storm to pass, it's about learning to dance in the rain.

Misabi is offline Senior Member
    Yep, your calves will really feel it the first few times, until they get used to your new running style.
    I'd say don't try to run on the ball of your foot, but land more on the mid-sole (just behind your ball, so your foot lands a little flatter but without the heel hitting the floor). Sounds odd I know and took me a while to get used to as I've always been a really heavy heel striker.

Try running up hill and you'll find that you do it pretty naturally, doesn't have to be too steep either, then you just need to remember how your foot is landing when you're on the the flat.

Before I got my VFF's I learnt this by reading up on Chi running and Prose running styles, plus watching a couple of good demos on youtube.