Thread: Protein Digestion page

nutritionut is offline Member

Protein Digestion

I was raised vegetarian, and systemic Candida has led me towards a high veg/fat/protein diet. I have had some good experiences with eating turkey (no hormones/antibiotics), but I have also had some bad experiences. Candida makes my ability to digest food unpredictable. I also am still getting over the "ick" factor from years of pro-vegetarian surroundings.

Right now, the main protein I am getting comes from eggs (4 a day) and soaked almonds. I know I need more. I was thinking of an egg white protein supplement. Does any one have any suggestions?

But I also suspect that I have a protease deficiency in spite of my taking enzymes with meals.

Does any one have advice on easy to digest protein supplementation and ways to increase my body's ability to process protein? I'm thinking of going on a high protease supplementation protocol.

Thoughts about what I could be missing would be much appreciated.

http://nutritionut.wordpress.com/

piano-doctor-lady is offline Senior Member
    I'm certainly not an expert in restoring protein digestion and which supplementary enzymes to take, but it seems to me that if your sensibilities can stand it, soup stock from slow cooking a bony joint of lamb or beef in a crock pot, seasoned with some herbs and a little sea salt, maybe with some pepper sauce like green tabasco or a pinch of curry might be quite digestible.

If the physical nature of a bony joint puts you off, is there someone else who could set it up and cook it for you, so you'd just see the warm stock, maybe with some veggies and parsley in it? A dash of lemon juice or tomato paste would be good, too. The gel from slow cooking a joint is really good for you, especially the digestive system. (Glutamine, it feeds and heals the gut.)