Page 1 of 15 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Pixy's Quest for Regaining Health page

QuirkyPixy is offline Senior Member

Cool Pixy's Quest for Health

I've been eating primally for about four months now, and thought that I should keep a log to chart my progress with resolving some health issues from here on out.

--

My main issues are:

-scarring acne
    -poor healing/thin skin
    -fatigue
    -about 10 lbs underweight, can't gain (5'1" and 94 lbs at age 22)
    -abdominal cramping
    -heaviness/tightness in chest
    -excessive belching
    -LOUD gurgling in chest, throat and abdomen
    -hair loss/texture change
    -cold hands/feet
    -dry eyes/mouth
    -high cortisol
    -gluten intolerance
    -and all of the anxiety and mood swings these symptoms bring

--

The Backstory:

I've had digestive issues all my life (soy-fed baby, put on anti-biotics for nearly two years when I was 3 or 4). IBS-type stuff, and it was AWFUL. I remember spending many nights during my childhood folded up like a crampy pretzel, trying anything to distract myself from the pain and bloating. This continued through college, as I ate pasta, Easy Mac, Ramen noodles and other assorted nasties without realizing that they were the cause of my distress. My acne, which I've had since age 12, flared up something awful on my chin, in extremely inflamed, painful bumps.

Last July, my symptoms began to change. I don't know if it was due to taking supplements, a week-long course of Cipro, stress, or something else, but it came on rather suddenly. I went from one end of the IBS spectrum to the other, my cramping moved to my left side and grew sharp, and I felt tired and miserable all the time. I got bloodwork done (thyroid, CBC, etc.), a pelvic ultrasound- everything was normal. I felt like I was dying and no one could figure out what was wrong. My acne started leaving pits in my face, which it rarely did before. I tried probiotics and digestive enzymes, which did nothing to help.