Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Best way to gain strength? page

Beefsister is offline Senior Member

Best way to gain strength?

Primal Fuel
    Hello all. I'm going to join a gym and was wondering if anybody could give me some advice. I want to gain strength whilst losing some excess fat, and was wondering how I should go about this. How many reps and sets should I do for an exercise? How many days a week should I work out? Should I split my workouts into body groups, or do full body workouts? I'm a total newb when it comes to weight-lifting, so any and all advice would be appreciated. With all the information floating around, I'm not really sure what to follow! I'm a 14 year old girl, if that matters at all.

Thanks!

EDIT: I already have a good base for weight lifting, and am not worried about hurting myself. I also have no care for 'toning'. I want to be strong. I wanted more specific information on how to gain strength with weight lifting. What I REALLY wanted to know was how many sets/reps of an exercise I should be doing ( I was thinking maybe the 5X5?), and how long I should be resting between each set. And should I split up body parts, or no?
    Last edited by Beefsister; 11-24-2010 at 09:07 AM.
    Remember, you are unique just like everybody else.

zoebird is offline Senior Member
    i would first look at the PB Fitness e-book that is free, and then some of the videos. the program is basic, it starts with body weight stuff, and helps you increase strength over time. when you can do those movements easily with body weight, Al has some cool videos and exercises that make it harder, and then from there, you can add weights if you want.

that's just me, though.

TigerLily is offline Senior Member