Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Holistic Primal Living? page

zoebird is offline Senior Member

Holistic Primal Living?

I was reading Carrie's input from 2009 (the blog) and was really struck by her use of microderm abrasions and such as part of her beauty regimen. I also use facials to keep my skin healthy-healthy; a friend of mine is an herbalist and does these things chemical free (all food based, really).

Also, being a yoga teacher, i believe in the balance of using yoga or a similar path to increase flexibility and thereby agility, and as a person who runs a holistic health center, i obviously support alternative health techniques.

In addition to your normal Grok-on activities, what do you do holistically that Grok may not have had access to?

for me, it's as such:

1. massage -- i am a fiend for massage. i love rolfing and deep work like that, it really gives my muscles a completely different feeling. but, because we have such a diverse team, i sort of hop around between deep tissue, sports, therapeutic, rhythmic, ayurvedic (which uses a lot of herbs and oils), tui na (traditional chinese medicine massage), shiatsu, thai yoga massage, and a whole lot of mixtures such as "massage plus reiki plus reflexology."

i try to get a massage each week, but it's been more like...each month right now.

2. feldenkrais -- feldy is really about options. we get into habitual patterns of movement, and those can often create pains, imbalances, etc, or we're trying to solve a pain/imbalance with a habitual movement and it just doesn't work (experience speaking here! LOL). feldenkrais realigns us and opens us up for new ideas in how to move, which can create opportunities.

i totally felt my skeleton in a totally different way. it was bizarro. i like it.