Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Would you do this? page

emmie is offline Senior Member

Would you do this?

I've been swimming laps for exercise for the past 30 years. Just recently I had two episodes of violent pain in the head that forced me to abort my work out. (There's tremendous pressure on the head when swimming from the water.)

After the second episode, I went to the ER, and they did a CAT scan that was negative. However, I have a friend who is a neurosurgeon who later told me that a CAT scan is not definitive, and I needed an MRA (MRI of the brain) to rule out an aneurysm--which he suspected. I had one scheduled when I had a third episode at home and out of the water--just exercising mildly. They did the MRA immediately and ruled out aneurysm. The brain looked fine.

I have a follow-up with a neurologist to try to find the problem, but my appointment isn't until December (since life-threatening problems have been ruled out).

I don't want to go back in the water until I know what this is, but I've recently begun strength training at my health club using their machines (I'm female, 69, and have learned this is good for us old ladies). I've been really happy with this and don't want to wait another month to continue.

Would you go back to this, knowing if it brings on head pain you can stop right away?

primalrob is offline Senior Member
    this is a tough one, because you still don't know what is causing the head pain. did you experience pain after doing some weight training? if not, keep doing that. if yes, you may want to back off a bit and try something else.
    i will occasionally get a headache after a really intense workout...but that doesn't really keep me from going back to it again and again. the headache goes away after a while, and the exercise makes me feel so great. i used to get dizzy after some workouts too (but that has gone away), and it was actually my chiropractor that helped me figure out what the problem was and how to fix it.