Thread: How much fat is enough? page

jtinjum is offline Junior Member

How much fat is enough?

I am brand new to Primal, but feel pretty on board. I am coming from a very regimented bodybuilding type eating style where I consumed lots of grains and very specific measurements of everything else at specific times. I have always been fit, healthy and love the way my body is now (very muscular)... the only reason I am giving this a shot is because I really think there is a lot of validity in the arguement against grains and how harmful they can be. I just don't know how to completely swing the other way with no plan without sacrificing my muscles. I know WHAT to eat, I think, but how much? Coming from a very regimented VERY LOW FAT diet, I don't know how much fat to introduce. I don't know how to do this without measuring or getting caught up in the quantities. Any recommendations? How do you start adding fat when you have always avoided it? Thanks!

lindag is offline Junior Member
    Try adding 2 slices of bacon to your breakfast. I think that's a good start. Then slowly increase so you have some fat at each meal.

Some folks add coconut oil, say a teaspoon, to their morning coffee. Something to try.

Another thing to try is to ask your butcher for meat cuts that have NOT been trimmed.

Personally I don't think you need to be too strict about counting grams of fat. Just start slowly and see how your body reacts.

As they say, YMMV.

Daemonized is offline Senior Member
    Being a lifter I would say to focus on getting plenty of protein and let the carbs and fat work themselves out. Sweet potatoes are probably your best bet for keeping the carbs up and if your glycogen levels decrease from fasting and or eating very low carb you will notice it in the size of your muscles. It really doesn't effect strength much, but I can tell when I do a major re-feed.
    Last edited by Daemonized; 11-12-2010 at 03:14 PM.

Grizz is offline Banned