Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Yoga, 5000 years old, Primal?? page

erikJ is offline Senior Member

Yoga, 5000 years old, Primal??

Primal Fuel
    So I've been doing yoga for about 10 years and have studied much of the philosophies of that make up the whole of modern yoga (Hinduism, Brahmanism, Tantra, Ayurveda.) and something kind of clicked for me when I recently went primal. For one, Yoga has been traced to the Indus valley civilization 5000 years ago. This was a culture that was eating lots of wild animal, elephant and rhino (mmmm rhino), lots of fish and were one of the first societies to begin the cultivation of agriculture. For one this meant that yogi's were not vegetarian as is currently the expected norm according to mainstream yoga communities. It also meant they were probably eating small amounts of grains, as part of the society, But still very little by modern comparisons. Combine this with a culture of walking barefoot and a physical discipline of moving slowly and learning to relax the mind, and you get some pretty primal folks.
    I wonder about the actual use of grains by yogi's as they were usually relegated to the outskirts of society thus were probably not participating in the day to day activities of the culture, i.e. farming and milling rice etc.
    I'm really curious to learn more about this as I have noticed my yoga practice is getting much stronger and more flexible due to the lack of inflammation, Not to mention I recover so much faster, important as I practice 6 days a week (good for flexibility and fine if done slowly)
    Any other yogi's gone primal?

TigerLily is offline Senior Member
    Hidee Ho, Erik!

Yogini (and former vegetarian as a result), as well as a former resident of San Fran, here.