Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: day two of fitness (ever) page

junebu8 is offline Senior Member

day two of fitness (ever)

Primal Fuel
    Hi, I'm June. I've been eating paleo/primal for two years, and it's been great. I started out very overweight and with type II diabetes that required insulin shots and oral medications. Now I've lost 60lbs, and I don't need meds (whoo hoo!) But I still have about 75 lbs to lose and I only started working on fitness yesterday. I mean, I've always gone for frequent walks/enjoyed swimming and dancing, but I have no muscle tone at all. I downloaded the free primal fitness program and started with a 'lift heavy things' day yesterday. I had to start on level one for all of the movements, and I couldn't do pull ups at all because I don't have a bar, and I couldn't think of a great way to carry a chair to the park to use the bar there for assisted pull ups.

Today, I'm really, really, really sore. I only did 2 sets of 12 reps on the movements and it totally kicked my butt (well actually, that's the only part on me that isn't sore). I'm planning to rest and play today.

Basically I'm hoping for some noob advice/inspiration. The fitness thing is SO much harder than the diet thing for me, and I hate to feel so overwhelmed/discouraged after just one day.

arthurb999 is offline Senior Member
    Sore is good... but you will get less sore the day after as your body gets used to it. The bodyfat will come off faster with exercise. Keep at it.

Diana Renata is offline Senior Member
    Oh I love the feeling of DOMS. It's like being hit by a train... in a good way. I've come to appreciate the feeling, knowing I did something good for my body.

You'll adapt, and it'll take more work to get that same ache. Your body will change faster than you think. Just hang in there and learn to like it. Some nice gentle stretching does help though, and a nice warm bath.

lizch is offline Senior Member