Thread: Frustrated Trying to Fit VFFs - Are they just not for me? page

carres1973 is offline Senior Member

Frustrated Trying to Fit VFFs - Are they just not for me?

Shop Now
    Hey gang! I have been wearing Sprint and Classic VFFs for a few months now. I ordered my first pair (Classics) online. Before ordering, I measured and ordered the corresponding size (a size 41). When I was on vacation this summer, I went to a store that sold VFFs in Atlanta. They also measured me as a 41. I bought my Sprints. In both shoes, in order for my toes to be all the way up (at least my big and pinky toes), the heel does not sit all the way to the back. My three middle toes must be really short because I never get them to reach the top. Should I have room in the back? I keep reading they should fit almost like socks with no gaps.

Now, on to my new pair I just received today. I ordered and received a size 40 Bikila. The heel sits GREAT, the big toe and pinky are to the top of their "sockets." However, the "webbing" between the toes doesn't reach the "webbing" between my toes. It is maybe 1/4 or maybe a little more above where it should be.

I realize it is absolutely essential to get the fit right. I wonder if I just have weird feet and VFFs are just not for me? It seems I cannot get both heel all the way to the back AND toes fitting completely in the socket. Is there such a thing as the "perfect" fit? Anyone else experiencing this issue? I love walking in them and the feel of being (almost) barefoot. However, I am getting REALLY frustrated that the fit just isn't quite right! Suggestions?

Carrie

Catherine is offline Senior Member
    i have sprints & bikilas too (39 & 38, respectively). I don't think they fit me EXACTLY like sox either - there's the teeniest bit of "wiggle" room in the toes. But in usage, I don't notice it. I guess you're noticing some slipping or something? If you're getting blisters, then they're probably not for you.