Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Coconut Oil page

RogerDeRok is offline Member

I finally bought some of this since a lot of primal recipes call for it.

Since the label doesn't say, how is this supposed to be stored? It was all solid when I bought it but sitting in the pantry now it's all liquid (warm in my house).

Should I refrigerate this?

Mr B Guest

Nah. It's supposed to be like that.

RogerDeRok is offline Member

Supposed to be solid, or liquid?

Do I refrigerate after opening?

whitecap Guest

The Spectrum website says this about storing their organic coconut oil:

"Store in a cool dry place (50 to 68 degrees F optimum) away from direct sources of sunlight, heat and other oxidizers. Properly stored unopened containers have an expected shelf life of 24 months from the date of manufacture."

Sorry, I'm no expert but fwiw, I very much doubt you could damage the oil by refrigerating it if you think it may be getting too hot.

As far as what coconut oil "should" look like, in my own experience so far, under mild climatic conditions (room temps up to the low 20s Celsius, i.e. up to about 80 degrees F), it's a solid.

Personally, after reading the above info from the Spectrum site just now, I think I'll be keeping mine in the fridge from here till the cool weather sets in again ...

Tara tootie is offline Senior Member

It has a very low m.p. Mine bounces btwn solid and liquid all the time. You dont need to fridge it. Its a very stable oil (thats why we use it in the first place) so it wont go rancid.

Tip: I got a big jar so I split it btwn 4 pint jars and sealed those. I only have one open at a time, so it lessens the chance that anything happens (ie air) while it takes me a while to work through so much coco oil.

More tips: great in coconut flour pancakes and awesome as a butter sub!

Life on Earth may be punishing, but it includes an annual free trip around the sun!

Riceball Guest

there are two kinds of coconut oil out there actually