Thread: RE: I'm afraid... best way to start page

jammies is offline Senior Member

RE: I'm afraid... best way to start

Primal Fuel
    Hello all;

I feel a little nervous even reading through this forum. I have been eating primal for about 2 months. I started on this path to help control my severe rheumatoid arthritis. So far, it is helping immensely.

While I do walk at least 45-75 minutes every day (some of it rigorous trail hiking), I don't do anything else. I have developed this sort of "fear" of my own body. I was in so much horrible pain for so long, that I now live in a state of hyper-vigilant protection of my joints. My pain is improved and it's time to start rebuilding the relationship I have with my physical self.

I still have pain in my hands daily and can't do things that will overly stress them, but I really want to work towards feeling strong. I also have a pretty significant trust issues with my knees, but I think they are ready to handle more.

Any suggestions for a gentle way to start doing more?

primalrob is offline Senior Member
    jammies,
    first off, welcome to the forums; there is endless information, advice and support here.
    i think it's natural to have a little fear or apprehension about taking things to the next level fitness-wise given your past. i used to weight a good heft over 300 lbs., and it took me a while to get the confidence to do some of what i do now. one of the best things you can try is taking baby steps:
    on your walks, try jogging between 2 telephone poles, then walking 2-3, then jogging again
    find a hill to walk up quickly for a lighter sprinting workout
    get in the water...swimming, exercising in a pool...it's low impact and a great way to break into more fitness endeavors
    check out the PB fitness book...there are five main bodyweight exercises mark recommends that all start at the most beginner level for those who are new to resistance training