Thread: enough calories?? page

c_star Guest

Shop Now

Hi! I'm new to the primal lifestyle and forum. I've been eating primal for about a week. My main purpose is much needed weight loss, but also to live a healthier life in general. The main thing I have noticed is basically how NOT hungry I am.

Is there a point where I could be eating too few calories? Today, I ate just over 1000 calories. I ate lots of vegtables, 2 fruits and plenty of protein and fats. My carbs are within Mark's recommended weightloss range. Is 1000 too extreme? Or, do I need to just get used to the fact that I won't feel hungry with higher quality fuel?

DaveFish is offline Junior Member

c-star, 1,000 calories every day would be a problem unless you were a small female. The nice thing about the Primal Blueprint is that you can and will eat more on some days than on others.

You say you ate plenty of proteins and fats but are you sure? One rule of thumb (from CW but still a good guideline) is that your base metabolism calorie requiremnts will be 10 times your weight. So if you weighed 150 lbs you would need 1500 calories a day just to live, not counting any exercise or other physical activity. Obviously you can survive on less calories but over time you would need that amount on average.

It is easy to underestimate your caloric intake though and you might be taking in more than you think you are.

If you post your height and weight and gender we can provide a more definitive guideline but for most people 1,000 calories a day isn't going to be enough.

Karin Guest

1000 calories a day isn't enough even if you ARE a small female. Unless you are very small, very small-framed and very inactive.

Nick Guest

PrimalCon New York