Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: I don't fast, but I might pick up some speed page

Rivvin is offline Senior Member

I don't fast, but I might pick up some speed

I want to get some input on this before I start, and maybe this belongs in the fitness/athletes forum instead of here.. but here goes anyways:

I would really like to try some periodic fasting, but I am a hard crossfit trainer 5 times a week and find that if I don't keep myself full at around 3000 cals a day I really feel like shit and sluggish.

I train M - T- W, take thursday off, and then back again on F - S, off Sunday (and repeat)

Because I take thursdays off, I was thinking of attempting full 24 hour fasts on those days with nothing but tea and black coffee. What I am afraid of is that it is going to affect me negatively in regards to performance and recovery.

Let me tell you why I'm doing this: I used to weight 300lbs and now I weigh 150. I am solid as a rock, but the only thing that still bothers me is the VERY bottom of my abs are still slightly covered in a layer of fat. It's not a big deal but I want it gone and while it's only been a year since I lost the weight and I know time can get rid of these things, I'm tired of waiting.

I would love any feedback on this from anyone who trains hard as fuck and fasts. If I need to move this to a different forum, I will.

Grumpycakes is offline Senior Member
    Keep in mind that exercise like crossfit, although healthful, does put stress on your body, and it's harder for a body under stress to lose fat. Why don't you take a week off from crossfit and try a 24 hour fast during that time?

Quote Originally Posted by Grumpy Caveman View Post
    Keep in mind that exercise like crossfit, although healthful, does put stress on your body, and it's harder for a body under stress to lose fat. Why don't you take a week off from crossfit and try a 24 hour fast during that time?