Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Weight training ~every day? page

chronyx is offline Senior Member

Weight training ~every day?

Shop Now
    I'd like to increase the amount of strength training I'm doing.

Before anyone replies 'OMG OVERTRAININGZZZ!' I'm not talking about max effort, everyday!

If I do a heavy deadlift one day, maybe the next day I'll go light with stiff-legged Romanian or sumo deadlift. Heavy back squats could be followed by overhead squat/front squat the next day. Or more reps with far less weight.

So, I'd be training the form as well as the muscles.

How does that sound?

Adventure8410 is offline Senior Member
    I'm no expert, but it sounds like your plan has you hitting the same major muscle groups 2 days in a row, THAT will hurt your gains. You can train everyday, you just want to keep an eye on what major groups are being worked if you want to give enough rest in-between that you aren't breaking down muscles you broke down the day before, if you were doing strictly bodyweight this would be a different story however.

Yes sorry I meant to put alternating days rather than consecutively! Good catch, thanks . And I posted in the wrong section. I've buggered this up a bit, haven't I...

Ahhhhh got ya, shouldn't be a huge problem then if you aren't shooting for maxes every time.

HAHAHA didn't even notice it was in the nutrition section

Excellent. It will be great to be able to work in some more variety!

Out of curiosity, what are you hoping to get out of this lifting style? Also I'd say just listen to your body as far as picking any sort of lifting plan.

Nocturnalhorse is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by chronyx View Post

Before anyone replies 'OMG OVERTRAININGZZZ!' I'm not talking about max effort, everyday!