Thread: Just sayin' Hi page

splunky is offline Senior Member

Just sayin' Hi

Primal Fuel
    Hello, I just wanted to pop in and introduce myself. I am not new to LC, or healthy eating, but new to PB. I started studying holistic Nutrition about 4 yrs ago but stopped because i had baby #4 and had many health problems. My health problems were the reason for studying holistic nutrition. No MD could give me an answer worth paying for!
    I finally found answers about 6 wks after she was born, and have been on a rd to healing ever since.
    I feed my family pretty healthfully, but dh likes his soda, and sweets like the rest of us. I try to use GF flours (i have celiac, and my daughter carries a double copy of the gluten intolerant gene) when baking and limit my use of white sugars when I can.
    I am basically on my own in this.
    I really need to lose about 10lbs and tone up. Exercise has not been my friend due to my health issues. I had severe Adrenal Insufficiency (along with hypothyroid and a host of food allergies), so no cortisol to put out for workouts. I really lost ALOT of muscle! Now that i am healing, I have started a light exercise routine, going to the gym 2x/wk. I am also in Karate 2x/wk but the workout there is minimal, I am just learning the art, not for cardio.

To be honest, I haven't been eating healthfully for a few wks. I tried Atkins, again, in August and did well until I had to eat at a friends house and started gaining slowly until i gave up. Then I found Paleo/Primal, which sounds way easier to eat socially if needed! So, during this transition, I have been eating whatever I want-which is no good, I know.

What i really like about this way of eating is, it's very easy to adapt to your preferences, body type or needs. Fruits is allowed! You can eat unlimited veggies! These things were what i missed so much on Atkins. Not all the junk, so a good pice of fruit, or some berries for a smoothie!