Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: "Crossfit: Is the Gain Worth the Pain?" page

primal_jessjane is offline Senior Member

"Crossfit: Is the Gain Worth the Pain?"

Shop Now
    http://www.acefitness.org/certifiedn...ifiedNews_1010

Interesting read. I don't agree with their comments about nutrition toward the end of course (too much protein causes kidney/liver damage? Realllllly?), but the author makes a good point. I've pushed myself too hard, too fast with a lot of Crossfitesque workouts, incidently allowed my form to get sloppy too many times, and have ended up with a good assortment of acute injuries. Crossfit really needs to remind people to CHECK THEIR EGO! ;-)

kmacphee is offline Senior Member
    I agree with you about the ego check. I have been crossfitting for a number of years. Luckily I am a strength and conditioning coach that focus' on form all the time, and recognize that there can be problems with the repetitive form flaws apparent in the Crossfit world. One thing I will compliment Crossfit on is that they value Form, Consistency and then when things are done properly on a regular basis, the Intensity bit can be included. However, there are many people in the CF world who place the intensity first for a few reasons, 1) many CF coaches are people who do not have any experience in the field, and 2) clients want their money's worth and they feel like if they are not sweating they are not receiving value for their dollar.

In my programming, I always work on body weight efficiency with the basic movements, broomsticks and med balls. Once people are doing well, then we move to external loads. Once the form is solid in the lifts, the intensity is added but with a firm grip on form.

Having said all that, there are some fantastic coaches in the CF community who do not fit into the bad category but just like anything else, a few bad apples possibly paint a bad picture for the rest.

PrimalWannabeGirl is offline Senior Member