Thread: Question about fasting page

jasonmh is offline Member

Question about fasting

So I am new to PB, and thinking about starting to skip a few meals a week. But I also read about how if you eat too little the body goes into starvation mode and wants to hold on to everything.
    Is fasting a good idea for someone who is just starting out? I am feeling pretty good right now, and for the first time in years I feel like I could skip some meals and be ok, but not sure if the idea of IF is more "advanced" than someone just starting out should take on.
    Thanks for any opinions,
    Jason

emmie is offline Senior Member
    You may want to wait until your body is comfortable with primal before doing any fasting, but please forget about "starvation mode."

The body doesn't even respond to any lack of food for 48 hours, so skipping a meal here and there--or an 18-hour fast--will not cause your body to 'hold' onto anything. It is a normal way to eat.

Again, you may want to wait before beginning to IF if primal eating is new to you, simply because it's best not to attempt too many things at one time because if you run into problems, you aren't sure what's causing them. After you're comfortable with primal eating on a steady basis, then you might IF if you want to do so.

sarahmasteller is offline Senior Member