Thread: Fruits page

TARNIP is offline Senior Member

Fruits

Primal Fuel
    Hi,

I am new to this but am glad I found the site as I have to go on a starch free diet to try and get some pain relief from a disease called AS. I am just curious as to how much fruit you can actually eat on this type of regime as I had planned to purchase a Vitamix blender and planned to pretty much live off things such as green smoothies (including fruits and veg) and meats, eggs, limited dairy (which I was looking at replacing with things such as coconut cream/coconut milk). I may use dairy cream and cheese as the my main dairy selections, but only occassionally.

Any help or info any can provide me with regarding fruits would be really appreciated.

jammies is offline Senior Member
    I think it depends on the individual. Mark puts fruit and vegetables at the bottom of the PB food pyramid (meaning they should be the foundation of your diet). http://www.marksdailyapple.com/press...rint-diagrams/

If you are interested in weight loss, some people seem to find that too much fruit bumps their carb intake too high, keeps them craving sugar, and/or impedes weight loss. Others find fruit is important for their success.

Personally, I eat fruit frequently (especially berries) and seem to be losing weight in spite of that. I follow a pretty restrictive diet to keep lectins low to treat my severe RA. If you find the standard PB isn't helping enough with your AS, you may want to consider giving up high lectin foods such as nuts, nightshades, eggs, and dairy. It makes a big difference for me.

Good luck!!!
    Last edited by jammies; 10-15-2010 at 07:40 PM.

Mog
    Mog is offline Senior Member
    Hey, from another aussie.

depends if you propose to adhere to Mark's recommendations re carb 'sweet spot'.