Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Help with a cast iron skillet page

skink531 is offline Senior Member

Help with a cast iron skillet

Shop Now
    So I noticed things were starting to stick a little more so I decided to re-season it. I wiped it clean, gave it a coat of lard, and put it in the oven at 350 for an hour or so. Now it feels gummy. What did I do wrong, and what do I need to do to fix it? I have grown to love this thing, please help.

dragonmamma is offline Senior Member
    There is no help. At least a dozen people will post comments claiming that there is a way to fix it, but your hopes will be dashed to pieces against the rocks. I speak from bitter experience.

JEL62 is offline Senior Member
    I'm not an expert, but the one time mine came out gummy like that was when I'd used way too much oil and didn't have my oven temperature high enough. Start from scratch and make sure you scrub all of the old coating off with soapy water and steel wool first. Rinse and wipe the pan well so it is completely dry, and then apply a very thin coating of oil. Wipe off the excess, you actually only want a thin sheen. I use spray oil myself, set the oven to 500, then let it bake for at least an hour or until my smoke alarm goes off. At a lower temperature you will want to leave it in longer to get the same result.
    Last edited by JEL62; 10-13-2010 at 04:58 PM.

PrincessGrok is offline Senior Member
    if you have access to a fire pit, or fireplace, you need to " burn it out". toss it right into a fire and let it glow red. remove, allow to cool, rinse ( no soap) use steel wool, and re-coat with bacon grease, lard, or coconut oil . You have accumulated build up on it, that will come off with the high heat.

yodiewan is online now Senior Member