Thread: Primals in Healthcare? page

nobska19 Guest

Primal Fuel

Hi Mark,

I am new to the Primal lifestyle; however I've been an athlete most of my life. About a year ago, I started Crossfit with my fiance and was slowly introduced to the Zone...then Paleo...then Primal Blueprint. I've been following your blog for over a year now. Honestly, the Primal Blueprint is the way to go! The simplicity is awesome, however I still struggle with carb cravings. I am participating in the Primal Challenge and have been about 80%, which is only going to improve. The improvements in mood, mental clarity and energy level are great!

I've been doing a great deal of research on low glycemic, paleolithic type diets and their health benefits. I am convinced that society needs to move towards a more primal lifestyle; however, the food industry would prefer to have us under their control. I am an Advanced Practice RN currently working in the hospital. I work in the Intensive Care Unit, but I am looking to finish with my Nurse Practitioner and move toward the outpatient healthcare arena. I currently live in Austin, TX, which restricts my license in areas of practice. For instance, I can't work with a Naturopathic MD or Holistic MD because they aren't considered MDs in Tx.

A very long story short is that I have such a hard time dealing with modern medicine and my primal views/lifestyle. I really have such a great audience to impact, but sometimes I feel the uphill battle is too hard to take. I am dealing with a very uneducated population (not just about health, but in general) that has a lack of resources and are typically already dealing with chronic diseases and complex disease processes. General health knowledge is lacking and I feel as if the population I encounter is so vulnerable and could benefit greatly from very simple changes in lifestyle. I am just at a roadblock on how.