Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Is it realistically possible to bulid muscle and lose fat at the same time?>>>>>> page

UpErMei is offline Member

Is it realistically possible to bulid muscle and lose fat at the same time?>>>>>>

Shop Now
    I just started lifting weights again (Body Pump classes 2-3 times a week) and so far am enjoying the feeling of empowerment! I do have some questions though.....

Honestly, my #1 goal is a reduction in body fat and my close #2 goal is getting stronger. Don't get me wrong, I do care about strength, but I'm a woman and just want to be a bit smaller. Please no flames for this.

I'm currently about 152 lbs and around 38% bf (I'm 5'4"). I'd love to get down to 128-133 lbs and 21-23% bf. My goals are modest because I do love having curves and my dh actually said to me "Don't lose too much!" Yeah, I'm lucky I guess, but I want to lose weight for me.

Ok, my question is....Can you really gain muscle and lose bf simultaneously? Has anyone here done this? What did your diet look like? I find myself ravenous at times, so I eat protein and fat, but I'm worried that I'm eating too much.

Anyway, tia!

Daemonized is offline Senior Member
    Losing fat while gaining muscle is the holy grail of the fitness and body building world and it is not an easy task. Yes, it is possible in that your body will add muscle if you're working your muscles and getting enough protein. Running a calorie deficit is required to lose weight of course which makes it harder to get up the energy to work your muscles.
    Usually when someone loses a lot of fat by running a calorie deficit for a long time they will also lose some lean body mass as well. Conversely a lot of strength training types will add on fat during a bulking (or fulking in extreme cases) phase in addition to lean body mass. Doing both at the same time requires a delicate balance.