Thread: Getting enough cardio for weight loss page

Dualhammers is offline Senior Member

Getting enough cardio for weight loss

Primal Fuel
    I've been primal for about 3 months now and have seen a very discouraging lack of weight loss. I will drop a few pounds during the week only to regain it on the weekend when I am stuck in doors working. Part of it is definitely my food habits - I end up eating far too much cheat food on the weekends, but to my detriment I haven't been moving slowly enough.

Now I don't really have much of excuse, but I find it very stressful trying to squeeze in 1-2 hours of cardio three days a week. Even an hour seems like a lot of time I am losing on projects. I usually work 8am-11pm work days on my animation - I am an a freelance animator - and even that keeps me tight on deadlines.

Do you have any suggestions of easy ways to find time to get 2 hours of cardio in? I know the range is 3-5 but I really want to try and get 6 if I can.

Grumpycakes is offline Senior Member
    Go for a couple half-hour walks every day.

Daemonized is online now Senior Member
    My advice would be to stop trying to use cardio for weight loss. There is a saying around here "you can't exercise away a bad diet". So, unless you enjoy doing cardio I would try finding ways reduce your caloric intake instead of keeping it the same and trying to find time for more cardio.

doghead is offline Senior Member
    If your main purpose is to loose weight, concentrate on getting the diet first. You won't get anywhere without that.

It is entirely possible to loose weight just with changes in diet, however, to loose weight with a poor diet and very mild exercise is very hard. Furthermore, you will likely not do exercise because you are forcing yourself into it, as opposed to enjoying it.
    - If it was cute and cuddly at some point, eat it. Ignore everything else. -

- Food is first, and foremost, nothing more than fuel. -